Skip to contentSearch for:Go!HomeAboutBlogPortfolioLandscape/PropertyLifestyle PortraitsCorporateWildlifeContact UsNew winners crowned at the Safaricom Mombasa International MarathonHome / 2017 / September / 25 / LIFESTYLE / New winners crowned at the Safaricom Mombasa International MarathonNew winners crowned at the Safaricom Mombasa International MarathonSeptember 25, 2017by Erick VatetaNo comment(s)LIFESTYLE

Cosmas Koech and Shelimita Muriuki won the 42Km race at the 34th edition of the Safaricom Mombasa International Marathon held on Sunday morning.

Koech clocked at 2:19:46 to beat Elkana Yegon who came in second at 2:20:18 and third placed Dismus Lotira at 2:21:11.

It was a close call for Muriuki as she battled for the title with Edda Jepkosgei who was hot on her heels; she won by a few seconds at 2:42:30 to Jepkosgei’s 2:42:36. In third place was Teresia omossa who clocked in at 2:45:22.

Koech and Muriuki each won Sh 500,000 while the 10 Km winners Stephen Mwendwa and Celestine Jepchirchir each pocketed Sh 40,000 at a time of 39.55 and 45.39 respectively. Safaricom sponsored the event to a tune of Sh 2.5 million.

Over 1,000 local and international athletes participated in the event under the Safaricom Athletics Series Banner.

Other upcoming races in the Series include: Kericho Road Race, Isaiah Kiplagat Memorial – Ndalat, Madoka Half Marathon, Imenti South Road Race and the Kisumu County National Marathon which will wind up this year’s edition in December.

Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Google+ (Opens in new window)Like this:Like Loading…RelatedFacebookTwitterGoogle+LinkedInPinterestAbout the Erick VatetaI take pictures and write sometimes. Let’s work together sometime: vateta96@gmail.comLeave a reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of follow-up comments by email.

Notify me of new posts by email.

2017 (c) KenyanStory All Rights Reserved. Website developed by KejaDigital */]]> */]]> */]]> */]]> */]]>